2023 Week 9 (Feb 27-Mar 5)

Welcome to our Gymnastics Message Board

Members see FEWER ads... so join today

irichluck21

Staff member
Defender

Thursday 4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT [25] Maryland, Towson, West Chester @ Temple LINK ESPN+
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT New Hampshire @ Penn LINK ESPN+
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT Eau Claire, Simpson @ Winona State LINK FREE

Friday
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT [13] Michigan State, LIU @ Eastern Michigan LINK N/A
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT Air Force @ North Carolina LINK ACC+
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT Ball State @ Bowling Green LINK FREE
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT William & Mary @ Penn State LINK BTN+
6:30pm ET/
3:30pm PT BYU @ [16] Ohio State LINK BTN+
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [6] LSU, [7] Cal, [23] Washington, George Washington (@ Baton Rouge) N/A
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [17] Arkansas @ [18] Georgia LINK SEC+
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [8] Alabama @ [14] Missouri SEC+
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [9] Auburn @ [12] Kentucky LINK SEC+
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT Hamline @ Gustavus Adolphus FREE
7:30pm ET/
4:30pm PT Illinois State @ SEMO LINK ESPN+
7:30pm ET/
4:30pm PT Stout @ La Crosse FREE
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PT [2] Florida @ [1] Oklahoma LINK ESPN2
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PT Arizona @ [3] Utah LINK P12I
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PT Nebraska, Alaska @ Utah State LINK FREE
10:00pm ET/
7:00pm PT [19] Southern Utah, San Jose State, UC Davis @ Sacramento State LINK ESPN+

Saturday
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT Rutgers @ NC State ACC+
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT Cornell, Cortland @ Brockport
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT Northern Illinois @ Western Michigan ESPN3
5:00pm ET/
2:00pm PT Boise State @ [22] Minnesota LINK BTN+
5:00pm ET/
2:00pm PT [11] Oregon State @ [15] Arizona State LINK P12
5:00pm ET/
2:00pm PT Oshkosh @ Whitewater
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT Iowa State @ [20] Iowa LINK BTN+
8:00pm ET/
5:00pm PT Centenary, TWU (@ Tyler, TX)

Sunday
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PT New Hampshire, Penn, Brown @ [25] Maryland BTN+
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PT LIU, Bowling Green @ [13] Michigan State LINK BTN+
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PT Bridgeport, Rhode Island @ Yale ESPN+
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PT Springfield @ Ithaca FREE
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT [24] Illinois, Kent State @ [16] Ohio State BTN+
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT Pitt, Central Michigan @ West Virginia LINK ESPN+
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PT [21] Stanford @ [5] UCLA LINK P12
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT Towson @ [10] Denver LINK DU ($)
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT Southern Connecticut, Fisk, Ursinus @ Temple LINK ESPN+
5:00pm ET/
2:00pm PT [19] Southern Utah @ San Jose State LINK
 
Maryland helped their case last night. They really needed that after the disaster the was Big Five.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mle
Bama vs Mizzou should be interesting.

GW and SJSU are the only teams that can move into the top 36 this week. Penn St and UNC are vulnerable, both at home with road 195s to drop.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Moderator
  • #4
Maryland helped their case last night. They really needed that after the disaster the was Big Five.
The 196.600 was a road score which is perfect because they can drop their last 195.
Maryland is guaranteed a regionals spot and guaranteed to be out of the play ins.
Their NQS went from 196.395 to 196.540 which moves them up past Illinois and Washington (for now) and just below Minnesota for 23rd at the moment.
 
Florida needs to ditch Jeremy Miranda. I found OU’s choreo boring as well, but better than watching Clapper and Richards try dancing to rap music. It’s so cringy for an annual national contender.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Moderator
  • #6
I disagree, his choreography is some of the best in the country.
Richards can’t dance at all, so any attempt at choreography is going to look awkward.
Clapper is usually much better, but that is her first floor of the season.

Also wondering why Clapper hasn’t been on beam all year. I doubt it is due to injury as she is clearly able to do beam if she can do a floor routine in competition.
Wonder if she lost her consistency. Too bad because she was fantastic as anchor on beam last season an really would make the perfect lead off this season.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Moderator
  • #8
198.225 is a program record for Michigan State and they had program bests on vault, bars, and beam.
Same meet, LIU gets a program record as well 196.100.
 
MSU looks great, but I think they would be well served replacing Schulte in the UB lineup. Even when she hits, she’s often short on the bail and there’s form issues on the shaposh that will probably get dumped into the 9.6-9.7 range in postseason. Loomis’ exhibition set from earlier the week, fall aside, would be a stronger option imo.

A loooooot of teams hitting 197 for the first time this week. I’m pretty surprised Iowa haven’t done it yet considering WMU/WVU did it at home this weekend. It feels like the judges are trying to give teams a huge peak score this week, so they can raise their ceiling heading into the last week and conference champs.

It must be at least 25 if not more teams that’ve gone 49.5+ on floor this season. Was this what it felt like to be a college gym fan in 2004?
 
Last edited:
198.15 for Denver with just a 49.075 on vault… I hate that Denver’s home meets are always on DU TV bc I need to see that floor rotation - 49.825!

With the wild home judging, not even OU/UF/LSU/Bama have managed a 49.8 on floor this season. Hell, UCLA hasn’t broken 49.7 yet. I bet the all-time FX record will be broken during a senior night next week.
 
Last edited:
I hope people can now get off the moral outrage angle about SEC scoring now. And instead just focus on the crazy judging that is happening ALLLL around.
 

Welcome to our Gymnastics Message Board

Members see FEWER ads... so join today

Back