2023 Week 6 (February 6-12)

Talk Gymnastics With Us!

Join Today... Members See FEWER Ads

  • Thread starter
  • Moderator
  • #2
Friday, February 10SCORESSTREAM
5:30pm ET/
2:30pm PT [19] Minnesota @ [2] Michigan LINK
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PTNebraska @ Penn StateLINK
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT [23] NC State, Pitt, Temple @ TowsonLINK
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [15] Missouri @ [3] Florida LINK
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PTEastern Michigan @ [10] Kentucky LINK
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PTTWU @ Centenary
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PTWhitewater @ StoutLINK
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PTLa Crosse @ Eau Claire
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PTGustavus Adolphus @ Winona StateLINK
7:30pm ET/
4:30pm PTLindenwood, Fisk @ SEMOLINK
7:30pm ET/
4:30pm PTOshkosh @ Hamline
8:30pm ET/
5:30pm PT [9] LSU @ [5] Auburn LINK
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PTWashington @ ArizonaLINK
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PTBoise State @ Utah StateLINK
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PT [21] Southern Utah @ BYULINK
10:00pm ET/
7:00pm PT [7] Cal @ [13] Oregon State LINK
10:30pm ET/
7:30pm PTAir Force @ San Jose StateLINK
Saturday, February 11SCORESSTREAM
12:00pm ET/
9:00am PTGreenville @ Simpson
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PT [25] Maryland @ RutgersLINK
3:30pm ET/
12:30pm PT Metroplex A: [4] Utah, [18] Georgia, [22] Illinois, Illinois StateNONE
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PTKent State @ Bowling GreenLINK
5:00pm ET/
2:00pm PT [20] Arizona State @ [6] UCLA LINK
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT [12] Michigan State @ [17] Iowa LINK
8:30pm ET/
5:30pm PT Metroplex B: [1] Oklahoma, [11] Alabama, [16] Arkansas, [24] Stanford NONE
Sunday, February 12SCORESSTREAM
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTCentral Michigan @ Iowa StateLINK
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTNorthern Illinois @ Ball StateLINK
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTEastern Michigan @ Western Michigan
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTBridgeport, Southern Connecticut @ YaleLINK
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTNorth Carolina, George Washington, LIU @ New HampshireLINK
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTSpringfield @ BrownLINK
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTBrockport, Ithaca, Cortland @ Cornell
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PTTowson, West Chester, Ursinus @ Penn
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PTWest Virginia @ [8] Denver LINK
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PTSacramento State @ UC Davis
 
Last edited:
  • Thread starter
  • Moderator
  • #4
DiCello with a 10.0 that was not a 10.0 also.

Florida meet made zero sense…but at least they are going toe to toe with Michigan and Oklahoma both of whom have crazy scoring to get into the 198s.
 
  • Like
Reactions: L_R
Idk, scoring was wack all over, Helen Hu got an impossible score. You are not honestly going to say Missouri was the better squad that night?
 
No, clearly not. But it was like the judges toked up for DiCello’s routine and then had to sober up for Thomas and Wong who might have deserved 10s.

I definitely think the rules need to change or be clarified for arm swings on landing. If you spend a minute pinwheeling your arms around so as to not take a step, that also shows a lack of control/proper position on landing.
 
Idk, scoring was wack all over, Helen Hu got an impossible score. You are not honestly going to say Missouri was the better squad that night?
Missouri wasn’t better than Florida. But they weren’t, overall, scored the same way.
 
Last edited:
I think they need to figure out how to make the won/loss record count for something. Coaches and programs would be much more interested in making judging more consistent and closer to code if that were the case. Right now, there is no incentive really to address judging.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Moderator
  • #10
Missouri doesn’t get the respect it deserves.
While Florida was the better team in their meet, the point differential between the two teams was NOT 1.725 but the scores say differently.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Moderator
  • #11
I think they need to figure out how to make the won/loss record count for something. Coaches and programs would be much more interested in making judging more consistent and closer to code if that were the case. Right now, there is no incentive really to address judging.
This will never happen. It makes zero sense to base thing around a win/loss record because the difference in conference strength and weakness is substantial.
You can be 1-6 or 0-7 in the SEC but still be a top program. All 8 teams are in the top 19 currently.
Missouri is 1-2 in the SEC at the moment and Georgia and Arkansas are 1-3 at the moment.
But you throw Missouri , Arkansas, or Georgia in MAC, EAGL, ECAC, MRGC, MPSF and they would likely go undefeated in conference.

When you look at non-conference match ups, Arkansas has the most difficult schedule in the entire NCAA. Are they going to have more losses than wins, probably, but Wieber wants her team up against the very best they can schedule. They are currently at a 3-5 record.

Win/Loss record does count for regular season conference champions, but when it comes to regionals, NQS is still more fair than win/loss record.

Judging DOES need to be fixed, but unfortunately, we all asked for more TV coverage.
We got that, but now we see 10s a lot more because let’s face it, the 10.0 is a big sell.

Coaches can ask for the judging to be fixed, but ultimately the sports channels and their producers are the ones who end up controlling a lot of the judging. A former NCAA judge even stated that she was approached by meet producers and was told how many 10s to give out and who they were to go to, even if the routine was not quite perfect.
 
I need to know where the judge is who gave Clark a perfect score for her FTY gets their drugs.

I’m going to be so sad when KJC retires. The majority of the commentators are hard to listen to and incredibly uncritical of the gymnastics happening before them, and a lot of them do not know what a stuck landing is. To be fair, they’re in an awkward position because half of the deductions you could point out will probably be ignored.

Still not over this getting 8.75. I’d love to see the routine of the LU gymnast who got the same score.
 
I have no idea how you can get that to an 8.75. She had 2 falls, missing the dismount completely, never mind the hot mess on the low bar. Her start value can’t be more than 9.8, and possibly less than that.
 

Talk Gymnastics With Us!

Join Today... Members See FEWER Ads

Back