2023 Week 2 (January 9-15)

Welcome to our Gymnastics Message Board

Members see FEWER ads... so join today

irichluck21

Staff member
Defender
Friday, January 13SCORESSTREAM
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT [10] LSU @ [12] Kentucky
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PTPenn, LIU, Southern Connecticut @ [24] Penn State
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [9] Denver, Fisk @ [4] Michigan LINK
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [20] Georgia @ [14] Missouri
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PTMaryland, Kent State @ West VirginiaLINK
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PTLa Crosse, Stout @ Winona State
7:30pm ET/
4:30pm PT [5] Auburn @ [2] Florida LINK
8:00pm ET/
5:00pm PTLindenwood @ Illinois StateLINK
8:30pm ET/
5:30pm PT [8] Alabama @ [16] Arkansas
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PT Best of Utah: [6] Utah, [22] Southern Utah, Utah State, BYULINK
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PTUC Davis, Eastern Michigan @ [23] Arizona State LINK
10:00pm ET/
7:00pm PTWest Chester @ AlaskaLINK
Saturday, January 14SCORESSTREAM
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PTTowson, Ball State, Oshkosh @ RutgersLINK
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PTWhitewater @ Gustavus AdolphusLINK
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT Chow’s Classic: Eau Claire v Simpson
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PTCentenary, Greenville @ SEMOLINK
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT [13] Michigan State @ NC State
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT [15] Illinois, TWU, Bowling Green @ ArizonaLINK
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PTSan Jose State @ [18] Stanford LINK
5:00pm ET/
2:00pm PT Wasatch Classic A: [6] UCLA, [19] Minnesota, [25] Washington, Boise StateLINK
7:30pm ET/
4:30pm PT Chow’s Classic: Iowa State v Northern Illinois
10:00pm ET/
7:00pm PT Wasatch Classic B: [3] Cal, [16] Iowa, [20] Pitt, Oregon StateLINK
Sunday, January 15SCORESSTREAM
11:30am ET/
8:30am PTUrsinus @ CortlandLINK
12:00pm ET/
9:00am PTBridgeport, Springfield @ Rhode Island
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTNebraska, Cornell, William & Mary @ George WashingtonLINK
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PTBrown @ YaleLINK
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PTCentral Michigan, Temple @ New HampshireLINK
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PTWestern Michigan @ Illinois StateLINK
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PTBrockport @ Ithaca
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PTWest Chester @ AlaskaLINK
Monday, January 16SCORESSTREAM
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT [10] Ohio State, Rutgers, Fisk @ [20] Georgia
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PT [1] Oklahoma @ [10] LSU LINK
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PTSan Jose State @ Air Force
 
Last edited:
I glanced away for 5 seconds and Kiya was on the floor injured 😭 nice to see UK repeat their upset, they weren’t as emphatic on FX to finish, but they did the job. For me at least, Kiya’s injury and Bryce’s beam fall evaporated a fair share of the excitement that had been built in the first 2.5 rotations.

UMich’s IG page reporting that last night’s 198.125 is the first 198 at home. I think they have like six-max 198s from the last two years. They looked stronger on BB this week, but boy is Big 10 judging SEC-flavored nowadays…

Denver with 4 sticks, including 2 1.5s. They look refreshed from last year.

Morgan Price is a star. Fisk is NAIA not NCAA, would that impact her when it’s time for seeding individuals to regional sites?
 
Last edited:
In what universe is this a 10.0?

image
 
Same one where Jade got a 10 on VT with a hop lol



Deductions are just suggestions at this point
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: One
I’m okay with routines that go above and beyond the requirements getting 10’s with hops but I just don’t think this was exceptional. She’s done better.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Moderator
  • #10
Same one where Jade got a 10 on VT with a hop lol
Carey’s one is a bit different IMO. It was barely a hop and the angle of the video of the vault is higher up than were the judges are sitting. They might not have seen the hop like we did, as our viewpoint is not the exact viewpoint of the judges.

The way the hop occurs might fool some judges into thinking Carey was sliding her heels together as several do in the “college salute”. Her reaction (emotional- very unlike Jade) and shouting “Oh my god!” might have fooled the two judges into thinking she stuck.

I personally, am an advocate for the vaulting judges to sit on a platform so that they have eye level views of the mat and the gymnast’s feet.

Wong’s was obvious from the dismount, although the first time I watched it live the 10.0 seemed appropriate. Granted I was dust mopping the family room as I was watching, so I was not 100% focused.

It was a strong DTY otherwise, and as long as you land a DTY in NCAA with no major errors, you are going to be getting 9.950-10.0 every single time.
 
Last edited:
Yeah, no, there’s a little too much scoot back for judges not to have seen that. Also she has a little bit of softness through her knees and ankles that leave it a bit shy of her best. They chose to give her the 10. I wonder if they’d either boxed themselves into the score or decided it was so far above the level of competition that they’d just give it, but I wouldn’t have in this case. Jade can do this vault to a college 10 standard, but this wasn’t it.
 

Welcome to our Gymnastics Message Board

Members see FEWER ads... so join today

Back