2023 Week 2 (January 9-15)

Friday, January 13 SCORES STREAM
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT [10] LSU @ [12] Kentucky
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT Penn, LIU, Southern Connecticut @ [24] Penn State
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [9] Denver, Fisk @ [4] Michigan LINK
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT [20] Georgia @ [14] Missouri
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT Maryland, Kent State @ West Virginia LINK
7:00pm ET/
4:00pm PT La Crosse, Stout @ Winona State
7:30pm ET/
4:30pm PT [5] Auburn @ [2] Florida LINK
8:00pm ET/
5:00pm PT Lindenwood @ Illinois State LINK
8:30pm ET/
5:30pm PT [8] Alabama @ [16] Arkansas
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PT Best of Utah: [6] Utah, [22] Southern Utah, Utah State, BYU LINK
9:00pm ET/
6:00pm PT UC Davis, Eastern Michigan @ [23] Arizona State LINK
10:00pm ET/
7:00pm PT West Chester @ Alaska LINK
Saturday, January 14 SCORES STREAM
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT Towson, Ball State, Oshkosh @ Rutgers LINK
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT Whitewater @ Gustavus Adolphus LINK
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT Chow’s Classic: Eau Claire v Simpson
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PT Centenary, Greenville @ SEMO LINK
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT [13] Michigan State @ NC State
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT [15] Illinois, TWU, Bowling Green @ Arizona LINK
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT San Jose State @ [18] Stanford LINK
5:00pm ET/
2:00pm PT Wasatch Classic A: [6] UCLA, [19] Minnesota, [25] Washington, Boise State LINK
7:30pm ET/
4:30pm PT Chow’s Classic: Iowa State v Northern Illinois
10:00pm ET/
7:00pm PT Wasatch Classic B: [3] Cal, [16] Iowa, [20] Pitt, Oregon State LINK
Sunday, January 15 SCORES STREAM
11:30am ET/
8:30am PT Ursinus @ Cortland LINK
12:00pm ET/
9:00am PT Bridgeport, Springfield @ Rhode Island
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PT Nebraska, Cornell, William & Mary @ George Washington LINK
1:00pm ET/
10:00am PT Brown @ Yale LINK
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT Central Michigan, Temple @ New Hampshire LINK
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PT Western Michigan @ Illinois State LINK
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PT Brockport @ Ithaca
6:00pm ET/
3:00pm PT West Chester @ Alaska LINK
Monday, January 16 SCORES STREAM
2:00pm ET/
11:00am PT [10] Ohio State, Rutgers, Fisk @ [20] Georgia
3:00pm ET/
12:00pm PT [1] Oklahoma @ [10] LSU LINK
4:00pm ET/
1:00pm PT San Jose State @ Air Force

Some good SEC meets this weekend!

1 Like

Going to get up for [email protected] Florida, should be worth it :slight_smile:

1 Like

I glanced away for 5 seconds and Kiya was on the floor injured :sob: nice to see UK repeat their upset, they weren’t as emphatic on FX to finish, but they did the job. For me at least, Kiya’s injury and Bryce’s beam fall evaporated a fair share of the excitement that had been built in the first 2.5 rotations.

UMich’s IG page reporting that last night’s 198.125 is the first 198 at home. I think they have like six-max 198s from the last two years. They looked stronger on BB this week, but boy is Big 10 judging SEC-flavored nowadays…

Denver with 4 sticks, including 2 1.5s. They look refreshed from last year.

Morgan Price is a star. Fisk is NAIA not NCAA, would that impact her when it’s time for seeding individuals to regional sites?

1 Like

In what universe is this a 10.0?

3 Likes

NCAA gonna NCAA!

Same one where Jade got a 10 on VT with a hop lol

Deductions are just suggestions at this point

1 Like

It’s a clownshow. Judges are scared not to give tens because of the chronically online hypersensitive fans.

3 Likes

I’m okay with routines that go above and beyond the requirements getting 10’s with hops but I just don’t think this was exceptional. She’s done better.

Carey’s one is a bit different IMO. It was barely a hop and the angle of the video of the vault is higher up than were the judges are sitting. They might not have seen the hop like we did, as our viewpoint is not the exact viewpoint of the judges.

The way the hop occurs might fool some judges into thinking Carey was sliding her heels together as several do in the “college salute”. Her reaction (emotional- very unlike Jade) and shouting “Oh my god!” might have fooled the two judges into thinking she stuck.

I personally, am an advocate for the vaulting judges to sit on a platform so that they have eye level views of the mat and the gymnast’s feet.

Wong’s was obvious from the dismount, although the first time I watched it live the 10.0 seemed appropriate. Granted I was dust mopping the family room as I was watching, so I was not 100% focused.

It was a strong DTY otherwise, and as long as you land a DTY in NCAA with no major errors, you are going to be getting 9.950-10.0 every single time.

Yeah, no, there’s a little too much scoot back for judges not to have seen that. Also she has a little bit of softness through her knees and ankles that leave it a bit shy of her best. They chose to give her the 10. I wonder if they’d either boxed themselves into the score or decided it was so far above the level of competition that they’d just give it, but I wouldn’t have in this case. Jade can do this vault to a college 10 standard, but this wasn’t it.

I literally dont know what the point of having judges is if they’re not going to at least be able to see and then take off for the landing.

2 Likes

The really sad thing is most of those judges are better trained than me and probably take the deductions when they judge level 10

1 Like

This is a nonsense. Move all the vault values down if you want to reward a DTY.

2 Likes